Skip to content

How To Find A Pug

September 30, 2008

Over and over, I’ve seen some horrible attempts to find that elusive 4th and 5th person in the looking for group channel.  On the flip side, my guildies can attest that I can usually find someone pretty quickly. Here’s some tips on how to do the same.

  1. Be specific.You need to say a little bit more than “Need one more for BRD.” Do you need DPS, crowd control, a healer, or a tank? Also, if you’re at the last boss, you might want to mention that since most people will be looking for a fresh run.
  2. Don’t be too specific.This is especially true in most 5-man instances. “Need a human holy pally who also has blessing of kings, healbot, 1400+ bonus heals, and epic gear to heal deadmines.” Sounds like overkill, but I’ve seen similar things said before. Keep in mind that there’s more than one class/spec for each role.
  3. Use the looking for group/looking for more screen. You can choose which instance you’re running and see other players who are looking to join the same group. Put in the comments field what type of player you need, and people will come find you. This will also put you in the looking for group channel.
  4. Spelling things out rules over abbreviations.I know most of the abbreviations, but sometimes I feel like I need a freaking glossary to understand some of the garbage that gets said in the looking for group channel. Try and interpret this: “LF2M 4 SP. CC/DPS, & G2G. PST IN 2 MIN I BRB. MUST #2 FTW!”
  5. Don’t spam the damn channel over and over.Yes, we know your “Healer bailed cuz a bird one-shotted her. Need help bad in Sethek Halls!” We also knew that the first 14 times you said it.
  6. Be ready to go. Be at the meeting stone or close by when you try and recruit. Nothing is more annoying than joining a group that takes 30 minutes to get to the instance.
  7. Be original. When you’re stuck, try something different. Feel free to use some of my favorite group recruiting quotes:

“If you’re looking for a good time, call my mom. If you’re looking for a Mana Tombs run, send me a tell. Need a healer. Thanks!”

“Need a tank for a kick-ass ramparts run. You shall die with honor!”

“Need a DPS for a Shadow Labs run. Must have gray gear or better.”

I use these when I’m getting desperate and the group is about to fall apart. Usually, I get way more tells that way, anyway. Someone even told me this once, “You know, I was about to log off, but I’ll join your group just for that quote. LOL.” That person even ended up joining our guild after the run. Best pug I ever found.

Borley

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Gweedo permalink*
    October 2, 2008 3:32 pm

    I would even go as far as to ignore +spell damage and +healing ratings.

    Players with skill will constantly out-perform ones who do not, regardless of their gear and or stats.

    It’s funny to watch the “required” ratings in chat just keep climbing. Folks, if you don’t let the people who aren’t geared run instances, they never will be geared.

  2. October 3, 2008 7:58 am

    Borley went from 45 to 65 as a healer. If a healer focuses on healing and not DPS/off tanking/emoting/THEN healing, then half the battle is won.

Leave a Reply

